Social Media IS Changing Journalism (Week 12 Readings)

Social media is changing the way of journalistic practices everywhere. What used to have to be created, approved and published is now instantaneously given to you via social media. You’ve been on social media and saw a tweet, post, status update, etc. that was huge news. You never had to wait for a newspaper or broadcast, you were told of it first hand on social media. The news needs to be given to the people as fast as humanly possible and the element of social media is enabling this to happen

Courtesy: Anatolii Babii

Alyssa Kritsch presents four ways in that social media is changing journalism.

1) Source From the Street – the firsthand witnesses (everyday people) are equipped with devices that easily allow them to share content that is news.

2) Master the Art of Listening – audiences are fully capable of producing good content nowadays, so find it and listen to it.

3) Amplify Your Story – schedule your posts to target your specific geographical location.

4) Analyze the Results – keep tabs on the content that is current, relevant and informational and use free tools, like Hootsuite, to filter out what fits your brand best.

As we see, there is most certainly a shift in journalism. So much so that Jayson DeMers, CEO of AudienceBloom, believes we could possibly see the extinction of print journalismCourtesy: pretoperola in the near future. One of the main reasons behind this is the general timeliness of content. There is no more time to wait for content to be produced, we want it now! That’s the power social media has over traditional journalism. Lisa Barone feels the elimination of the “middle man” is one reason for the rise in social media uses for brands. They no longer have to go through any barrier to communicate efficiently with audiences. Social media allows brands to become personal and human in the way in which they interact with other users of a particular platform.

Do you feel that “print” journalism is on the path to becoming obsolete?

Is social media your primary outlet for attaining news stories and current events?

18 thoughts on “Social Media IS Changing Journalism (Week 12 Readings)

  1. I think there will always be a place for print journalism. Some people (although the numbers are shrinking) still enjoy sitting down in the morning with a cup of coffee and a paper. The focus has definitely shifted to online media and I think the types of article shares on print will be very different. The headline news is more accessible online. It is already old news by the time it’s printed. Therefore, I think the type of material covered in print media will lean more towards quality stories with background information about news we saw breaking online. These of course, would be pushed through online platforms as well to ensure they reach more people and allow for ease of sharing.

    I personally get 99% of my news stories and current events online. Because I follow many news channels on Facebook and Twitter, I see what they post well before I could see it anywhere else. I can easily check my Feeds throughout the day while I’m chasing after my toddler. Many times, I watch the full story on the evening news or read more about the details when I have a break in my day but I am kept up to date through my social media.

    • I see where you’re coming from, Erin. I asked this same question to my father and he thought I was crazy to say his newspaper would no longer be around. I also agree with you when you say print journalism will begin more in-depth coverage rather than breaking news as features.

  2. When I was working as a newspaper editor, my life revolved around the news. On the clock or off, I had to be aware of what was going on 24/7, and social media and online news sources were essential. These outlets allowed me to have up-to-date news alerts at my fingertips, where a traditional newspaper obviously has its limitations. By the time a newspaper prints a story, there may be a lot of developments already available online, making print journalism less relevant. As much as I enjoy sitting down and reading the newspaper, I think social media and online news sites, will eventually make print journalism obsolete.

    • Social media really does destroy print journalism when it comes to breaking news. We just don’t have the patience, nor the reason to wait on stories nowadays. I agree that print journalism does have a chance at becoming somewhat obsolete, should be interesting to see how it fluctuates in the future.

  3. I agree with Erin that there will always be a place for it, but as the younger generation continues to grow up, I think there will less of a demand for print journalism. We are so used to getting everything from social media or from the internet. I think we are in a transitional stage right now where there is still a demand for print, but I don’t think that will be as prominent in the future.

    • I see where you’re coming from, Casey. It’s almost if the upcoming generations won’t see a demand for newspapers when they are accessing the internet and getting all of their news material. I could definitely see newspapers continuing to decline, but there is still a descent demand for them. Should be interesting to see how it plays out in the future.

  4. I do think print advertising will become obsolete. As our kids grow up not reading newspapers and magazines and consuming everything digitally, there won’t be an audience left for them. Social media is definitely my only source for news. I don’t watch the news on TV or read about it anywhere but the internet. I don’t visit news sites unless a link on social media is driving me there.

    • Hey Stacy, I feel what you feel in some way. I see these newspapers continually declining in the future. I know there is still somewhat of a demand for them, but it’s hard to see how they will translate for future generations.

  5. I second Erin’s feelings that print journalism will never truly become obsolete, just on a smaller scale. People, like myself, are creatures of habit and if they are utilizing print journalism now, they will continue to do so until they no longer can.

    As I mentioned in my blog and in another comment, I tend to see the news first on social media, but I almost always double-check it on a more reputable news source. There have been a few celebrity death hoaxes I’ve fallen for after reading them on Facebook, so I always fact check on Google.

    • Understandable, there is still the factor of validity when you read social media posts on events. It’s always assuring to be able to double check with a trusted and major outlet to ensure the content was, in fact true.

  6. Hi Gavin!

    I don’t necessarily think that print journalism will ever become completely obsolete – I feel like there will always be a place for it somewhere; albeit, that place will no doubt become smaller and smaller with time. I think it’s more important for journalist to worry about adapting and implementing new ways of information gathering and writing than spending their time worrying about the fate of their career.

    Surprisingly, social media is not my primary outlet for attaining news stories and information. While I do rely on Twitter to keep me updated with all of my pop-culture news, I tend to frequent news websites more than their social media pages – rarely do I ever buy a newspaper or magazine though.

    -Lacee

    • Very true, you have to adapt when your in any type of journalistic field, because it is constantly changing. I also use news websites for my information a lot of times because I feel it’s easier to navigate to what I’m interested in. I feel all outlets are still necessary based on people’s individualistic needs, but we’ll see how that changes in the future.

  7. I definitely think that print journalism will be gone in the years to come. Even newspapers such as the WSJ and the NY Times are seeing numbers drop drastically which means less money coming in. We are turning into a 100% digital world. Slowly but surely, it will happen. I hate to admit it, but I do get all my news from social media. Yet, this allows me to see what is really important and view articles that I know are credible. Great post!

  8. You said “Do you feel that ‘print’ journalism is on the path to becoming obsolete?”

    Sort of.

    I think the term “print” will be interchangeable with the term “text.” So I think “print” will just translate into the text/content seen on websites. There will still be a need for “print” reporters.

    Also, to become obsolete there has to be some sort of replacement. As this time, I don’t see reporters being replaced.

    • Yea, good point. Reporters aren’t being replaced yet, but it seems they are actually expanding. I say this because everyday people are becoming reporters given the easily accessibility we have to tools that help produce content.

  9. While I think the demand for day-to-day print products is shrinking with the rise of breaking news on web, mobile and social media, I think more in-depth/feature reporting will still have a place in the print world. For example, my fave, Paul McCartney was on the cover of Rolling Stone last week. Was I going to settle for reading the digital version of the mag? Heck no! I went out and bought a hard copy. wanted to hold it in my hands, read it and save it as part of my magazine collection. I can’t be the only freak that does this because I got the last copy that was on the shelf 🙂

    To get a quick glimpse of the headlines, I look at social media. But let’s not forget that social media will often link users to news websites. So, you are initially getting your news from social media, but it’s just a mechanism to get you to a news website.

  10. In-depth reporting definitely seems more print, while breaking news seems more digital, I agree. That’s a good example with Paul. people still enjoy the hard copy. News outlets are on top of it most of the time, but it’s great when a huge story is broken by just an individual on Twitter. It’s like with social media, we don’t miss any news because people are always putting up stuff. Thanks for the reply..

Leave a Reply

