Sports and Social Media Survey (Part 1)

Courtesy: Trevor Turnbull (http://www.sportsnetworker.com/sports-social-media/)

Background

For as long as I can remember I’ve been a big fan of sports. My family instilled the greatness of sports into my mind at a very young age. My grandfather even used to say that sports is like our religion, and that actually has some validity. The way people have engaged with each other over sporting events is one of the great things about the industry. There is a common bond between all sports fans, and that is the love and respect for the game.

I was curious to see how people feel about sports in our society in relation to social media. Social media has provided people with an outlet to engage with a vast amount of others who share an interest in this industry. I thought it would be good to see just how people feel about engaging in sports conversations on a social media platform, so I created a survey. I distributed this survey in a somewhat snowball fashion through a link on a few of my social media accounts.

I really want to see how people follow sports, which sports they follow, and how they feel about sports conversations on social media. As I am biased in my ideals that sports are the greatest part of social media, it would be interesting to see how other people feel about it. I want to find out what and how people think about this and a survey on it will give me way better insight.

A summary of questions asked on the survey:

First off I wanted to know whether the survey taker was male or female. Considering there is the notion that sports are more followed by males, I wanted to see how that would affect the overall results.

Courtesy: www.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk

Also wanted to know the age of the respondents and see if that plays a role in this scenario.

Then I had to make sure to ask people if they even watched sports, if not then this survey would provide little interest to both parties.

I also wanted to know what sports people watch and how they prefer to watch them (e.g. TV, CPU, Tablet, etc.) This will give me a little more insight into how “involved” my respondents are in the sports world.

It was important for me to ask where people got their sports news. This is because you can’t follow every particular event, so you rely on sports media outlets to give you information about the event.

Then I needed to know which social networking platforms the respondent actually uses. This will let me know whether or not they are more likely to engage in social media conversations.

Finally, to get the questions about whether or not the respondent has participated in a sports conversation on social media, whether or not they think it has an overall positive or negative impact and what is their level of enjoyment in relation to seeing/being involved in sports conversations on social media.

Expectations:

Upon this survey being completed, I want to get a better understanding of how people feel about sports being involved into the social media universe. Whether or not they are good or bad, and generally how they feel about it.

Stay tuned for my next blog post to see the results!

Courtesy: www.kacc.com

If you would like to participate in the survey, please click here.

16 thoughts on “Sports and Social Media Survey (Part 1)

  1. Hey Gavin,
    I thought you picked a great subject for your survey. When we moved this past summer, my girlfriend and I decided to drop cable. While I’m not the biggest sports fan, live sports are one of the things I miss most. I still get to watch some events on the major networks (NBC, ABC, etc.), but I don’t have ESPN. After we parted with cable, I found myself following ESPN and other sports teams on social media more and more. Since I couldn’t watch it live, I could at least follow the events through other media.

    Your survey covered a lot of ground. I also did mine with SurveyMonkey and found it difficult to decide on 10 questions, especially since we needed a few demographic questions. I think it would have been interesting if you had asked people if they follow leagues or teams on social media. Personally, I think everyone from avid sports fans to casual fans follow teams on social media. Also, I’m looking forward to the response on the “positive or negative” sports conversations on social media (question #9). Last week, the Richard Sherman interview was everywhere. It brought a large amount of negative feedback followed by positive feedback and support. It was an interesting transition for sure.

    Great post!

    • It is tough to fit a survey into just 10 questions. I think asking about whether or not people follow a sports athlete or team would have been a good survey question. Richard Sherman was definitely all over social media, so much so that he was being covered by networks who weren’t even sports related. The negatives and positives are definitely present, it should be interesting to see how people feel about it.
      Thanks for the reply.

  2. Hi Gavin,

    I found your survey to be one of the more enjoyable and layered surveys in the class. I love how you took two separate things and tried to figure out how they relate to one another. I am a sports fan, so obviously the subject did pique my interest. But I don’t think I’m at the level you are as far as thinking sports is the greatest thing about social media. So I think that this survey can examine a wide range of people and their beliefs. It won’t just come down to who likes sports and who doesn’t, so there’s a variety of answers that can be provided here and I’m interested to see the results. I think the most revealing result of your survey will be the question asking how they get their sports news. This will separate the casual fan who watches every once in a while to someone who believes it’s a religion. Great post!

    • That’s exactly what I’m hoping to get out of this survey, how people feel about sports on social media. I know how I feel about it, but definitely welcome other perspectives. I know the sports industry is placing more and more reliance on social media platforms for their agendas, and since they are rising, it is more likely people are following them. It certainly will be interesting to see how people feel about the topic. Because if you are active on social media, you see a sports post somewhere, somehow–even if you don’t seek it.
      Thanks for your reply.

  3. Hi! I think you did a good job of identifying the objective of the survey and constructing some hypothetical arguments. Who would be your target audience? Would this survey be more for people who follow sports on everyday basis or for anyone? Male? Female?
    I personally don’t follow American football much, but I love soccer. I noticed myself using my iPad for streaming games and checking out news about the World Cup. I’ll be sure to take your survey! Good luck with reporting your results next week.

    • My target audience would be people who participate in social media and how they feel about sports being a hot topic on the platforms. Since sports are so widely viewed, I really didn’t have a “particular” audience I was trying to go for. I would say more of the younger generation, but I know that the younger generation are not the only ones on social media nowadays. Glad to see that you like the World Cup, it is one of my favorite events in the world.
      Thanks for your reply.

  4. I really enjoyed taking your survey and reading about the motivation behind it. I am the only girl in my family and quickly learned that talking sports was one of the only ways I could have a substantial conversation with my dad and brothers! Sports became a big part of my life, I played softball for 12 years, studied an outside area of concentration in sports management in college and now date a former college athlete. When its college football season I love to camp out on my couch and watch football, my mom and girlfriends would much rather scratch their eyeballs out! I am interested to see your survey results and see if any other girls enjoy sports as much as I do!

    • Glad to hear that sports have a positive impact on your life. I know where you’re coming from as far as family in relation to sports, it’s a good thing. Let’s you have a conversation about something in which everyone can enjoy. I’m looking forward to seeing the results as well..
      Thanks for your reply, Alexis.

    • I think all of us can relate at least a little to sports being the best medium to have conversations with family. I started watching NASCAR not because I necessarily enjoyed it, but because my father liked it and it made for a nice conversation piece between us when I was in college and thought I knew everything and he of course knew nothing about the world.
      Ah- the wisdom that comes with age.

      • The wisdom that comes with age is exactly right haha. I too started watching sports because of the influence from my father. He raised me playing them, watching them and everything in between. I’ve always found sports as a great outlet to communicate with anyone. The first interview I had for a job I noticed at Pittsburgh Steelers helmet on the desk. Started talking about the Steelers and football and that pretty much was the whole interview.

  5. I can definitely relate to your comparing sports to religion. I was born and raised in Wisconsin until age 13 and you went to church on Sunday, then you watched the Packers. I still cheer for the Packers and yell at the TV when they are doing bad. I also jump on Twitter to express my satisfaction/anger over my team’s performance. Sometimes, I’ve dropped some f’bombs in my tweets, so I’m learning to restrain myself in that way since tweets can live on. But I can still yell at the TV!

    • There is just that passion about sports, Amanda. Some people watch modestly and some people feel like they are part of the team. It’s all in good fun though, or at least that’s how I see it.

  6. Hi Gavin,

    While I myself only follow certain sports every 4 years (read that during the Olympics only), I do come from a family that is very devoted to soccer. When I lived in Bolivia, I remember that every Friday my grandfather and cousins and uncles would don their team’s t-shirts and banners and head over to the stadium. If their team won, they wouldn’t return until late at night, having gone partying. If their team lost … they still went out to drink, but in a more subdued fashion :)! Even now that my grandfather can’t go to the stadium, he still has his battery operated radio that he carries with him to the garden and just sits down and listens to the game.

    I wonder if you thought about asking the nationality of the person? Personally I think anyone, regardless of nationality, can be an extremely devoted fan of their favorite team. But I do wonder about whether certain cultural background might actually affect the level of passion put into the game. For example, I had a Japanese student that really surprised me. He was extremely reserved, and I wouldn’t have pictured him as a sports person. One weekend however I came across him at a baseball game. He was so different! He was screaming for his team while cursing like crazy at the other team’s players! His whole face was painted. It was such a surreal moment, and I remember that he told me that in Japan baseball was really popular. He said that people took it very seriously, and that during game days, the bar would be teeming with fans screaming and chanting for their teams. The following day though, he was back to being as serious as always.

    • I think asking about nationality would have been a good question. Seeing that sports are so international, it would be good to find out just who and where people watch their sports. Baseball is definitely serious in Japan, almost as football is here. The world of a sports fan is very intriguing to me. The way people watch their sports, their level of passion and their general love for the game keeps me fascinated.
      Thanks for your reply.

  7. Hi Gavin,

    Interesting post. I feel the same way when it comes to sports. Being Irish and Catholic, growing up and watching Notre Dame football was like going to Church in my family. I often joke that the Dad from Rudy was like my Dad. But I was wondering if you ever seen this:

    http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-football/story/2013-08-30/college-football-week-1-alabama-ohio-state-oregon-fan-map-facebook

    It shows college football fans demographic by their “likes” on Facebook. Also, I am interested to see how people got their sporting news. I feel like there are so many different outlets to get it through social media.

    • I’ve never seen that demographic map, quite interesting. I know a few “Fighting Irish” fans and I’ve learned to not offend their team. Most people I interact with have mentioned there family raising them into sports. It’s a great thing as far as I’m concerned.

Leave a Reply

