Sports and Social Media Survey (Part 2)

Part II of the “Sports and Social Media” survey deals with the results. The results are based on 23 respondents over a 5-day period. Below lists the 10 survey questions and the results, as well as my interpretations of the data. I would also like to thank the 23 participants for taking time out of their day to take this survey.

Courtesy: www.webtaj.com

Questions and Results

What is your gender?
13 male participants and 10 female participants

Which category below includes your age?
23-27 years old: 17 participants
28-32: 3 participants
33-37: 2 participants
43+: 1 participants

Do you watch sports?
Yes: 22 participants
No: 1 participant

What electronic device do you predominately use when watching sports?
Laptop Computer: 2 participants
Television: 18 participants
Smartphone: 1 participant
None: 1 participant

Which of the following sport(s) do you follow?

Followed Sports

What is your favorite way to get sports news?
Internet: 11 participants
Podcasts: 1 participant
Television: 10 participants
I don’t follow sports news: 1 participant

Which of the following social media sites do you personally use?
Facebook: 23 participants
Twitter: 18 participants
Google+: 12 participants
Instagram: 18 participants

Have you ever participated in a discussion about sports on a social media platform?

Participated in Sports Convos

Do you think social media provides a positive or negative outlet for sports conversation?
Postive_v_Negative

Overall, what is your level of enjoyment as far as being a part of and/or reading conversations on sports via social media?
Strongly Dislike/Dislike: 0 participants
It’s O.K: 6 participants
Like It: 10 participants
Love It: 5 participants
No Preference: 2 participants

Expectations:

Expectations, as written in Part I, were met in this survey. As a sports fan, I find social media to be a great outlet to interact with other fans. I wanted to know just how other people felt about that, as well as sports and social media as a whole

Data Interpretation:

To start, it’s worth noting that most respondents (male and female) are sports watchers, there was only one who wasn’t. The participant who wasn’t involved in sports was a 43+-year-old male. This was the most surprising part of the survey to me. I assumed—no offense ladies—that it would be a female who wasn’t part of the sports industry at all.

Of all sports, football ranked the highest one followed at 91% of total survey takers. Given that football is the most popular sport in America and the fact that this survey was done the week in preparation for the Super Bowl, these results don’t surprise me.Courtesy: www.ifanboy.com The “timeliness” of the sporting event is also present in the Olympics; in which over 50% of participants say they follow. It would be interesting to conduct this survey during a year when there are no Olympic games, to see if those results would be equivalent.

As far as how people prefer to get their sports news, the Internet and Television were almost tied. This surprised me when seeing the “Internet” as not substantially ahead of all others. These results show people still enjoy sports news programs. Another reason I was surprised in these results is the fact that most sports news that’s seen on television can also be viewed online. Considering the ease of Internet access and the fact that smartphones are in our pocket, it just seemed like it would be a more popular choice.

Courtesy: www.at.ford.com

I chose to only include 4 social media platforms in this survey, because I figured these 4 are ones where you’re most likely to encounter sports conversations. All participants were active on Facebook, 78% for Twitter and Instagram and 12% for Google+. All in all, each participant is an active member of at least one social networking site.

It was important to ask how people felt about sports conversations on social media. Even if you try to avoid them, you will see sports conversations. Especially when something big happens that non-sport networks pick it up or something sports related is trending and you see it on the sides of your screen. I needed to know whether people had a problem with it. Only 13% found sports conversations to be a negative part of social media:

LikeChart

Participant #5: Male (23-27 years of age). Follower of many sports and has been involved in sports conversations on social media. My analysis of this participant is that he enjoys it, even though it’s not a “good” thing, because he said he “likes” sports conversations on social media. This was interesting because I’ve never looked it from a perspective of enjoyment—while being negative. I can assume the hostility, profanity and overall aggression that can boil over in sports conversations that makes him feel that it’s not a good aspect of social media

Participant #11: Male (23-27 years of age). Follows 3 sports and uses laptop for news and watching. Participates in conversations, but doesn’t see them as a positive aspect of social media. I’m thinking he has had some similar experiences that Participant #5 had.

Participant #23: Female (23-27 years of age). Follows 3 sports also and has been involved in sports conversations. “Likes” them, but doesn’t see them as a good thing.

The commonalities of these 3 participants are that they have been involved in sports conversations, yet they still feel they are negative to social media. Prior to this survey, I figured anyoneCourtesy: www.dialog.scarborough.com involved in sports on social media looked at them as a good thing. Very intriguing results, and definitely one I didn’t foresee.

In the end, I was happy to see that no participant “strongly disliked” or “disliked” reading or being a part of sports conversations on social media. This result gives me the belief that people are accepting it for what it is, entertainment. Social media gives us an outlet to discuss an array of information on things we find interesting and sports conversations are at the forefront of topic being discussed.

Courtesy: www.mirror.co.uk

8 thoughts on “Sports and Social Media Survey (Part 2)

  1. People watching the olympics more than MMA, hockey and golf was a little surprising to me. For example, Tiger Woods is more popular and recognizable than say Usain Bolt. Even (like you said) with the Olympics going right now that number is still high. Like how many people honestly get excited for the Olympics?

    So I looked up how many people watched the London Olympics and this is the article I found:
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/08/13/london-olympics-2012-ratings-most-watched-ever_n_1774032.html

    I am now eating crow.

    • I think the Olympics is interesting as far a “sport” goes and was actually pondering not including it. I think more so because it is a combination of sports/games that has a lot more meaning to it than just “another” game. It’s almost as if you watch sports or not, you tune into the Olympics to follow your nation. It’s almost a spectacle, as opposed to just an event. I’m not surprised about how many people tuned into the 2012 summer games, I think it’s great. Olympics come once every two years, it’s good to know people are willing to support their nation, games and the athletes who represent them.

  2. Hey Gavin,
    I have never participated in a sports conversation on social media. When I see one of my favorite teams being mentioned, I will scroll through the comments for pure entertainment. People take sports conversations very seriously and easily get fired up. If you can’t find a good example on Facebook, head over to ESPN and read the comments on a post. Some people are crazy. On a side note, I love looking at the geographic maps of ESPN polls. They’re usually entertaining as well.

    It’s great that you took note of the Super Bowl and the Olympics being so close to your polling period. Outside events could have definitely persuaded some respondents. When I took your survey I was surprised to see Olympics. Outside of the two year cycle, I think most would forget about them. I’m a big fan and glad you thought to incorporate it into the poll. I imagine during the World Cup more people would say they are interested in soccer as well. Or if you asked people about working out near New Years, more people would say they workout. It’s definitely something to consider when sending out a survey.

    Great post!

    • Hey Sean,
      There is no doubting the seriousness of sports to some of the super fans. Unfortunately, I can’t judge, because I fall into that category. I would agree though, it can get a little to serious when people actually start threatening someone’s well being.
      Timeliness has a lot to do with surveys I think. That’s why I’m not surprised the Olympics yielded some followers. Something that is more current is more likely to be acknowledged. Would be interesting if I added a sporting event that wasn’t starting in the near future, and seeing how it would change people’s responses.
      Appreciate the reply, my friend.

  3. Hey Gavin, I have two thoughts when it comes to the gender of participants. Because most of the results I’ve seen have been a majority of women, I was a little surprised that this was more men. However, I think that some women might’ve seen the subject matter of the survey, realized they don’t watch sports and felt they wouldn’t be helpful to the survey. This can account for the somewhat lower number of participants in the survey compared to our classmates. I was surprised though that the one person who didn’t watch sports still participated in the survey. I wasn’t surprised by the high number of people that still watch sports and sports news on television. It’s America’s Pastime and it’s one of the few things that still gets people to surround a TV. Everything else pretty much falls in line with what I expected. Great post!

    • Hey Steven,
      I was really surprised at the amount of female participants who followed sports. I guess it’s just one of those things society throws at us in that sports are for men, when really, a lot of women are interested in them as well.
      I knew I was taking the risk when doing this survey that it might not be relatable to certain people, but I decided to go with it. The main reason for this is because I want to be involved in some sort of marketing for sports in the future and know social media would be a great outlet for that–so I wanted to see how some people thought about it.
      Thanks for the reply.

  4. Hi Gavin,

    Personally I don’t really follow any kind of sports throughout the year. That being said, I became a huge sports fan during the Olympics. You will see me checking scored all the time, and even at work I will have the live events playing in the background on low volume. I tend to follow swimming, gymnastics, and tennis. So the winter Olympics is not really a big hit with me … but I’ll still check various websites just to see which country is on top! So yes, it really would be interesting to see if your survey results would be different if the survey was given when the Olympics weren’t taking place.

    • A lot of people are like that for the Olympics. I think that has more to do with the Olympics being a worldwide spectacle, opposed to a every other day sporting event. Also the fact that they only come around every 4 years and you want your country to do great.
      I think, as you said, the survey results could be different if I didn’t add the Olympics. Honestly, if the Olympics weren’t a few weeks away, I probably wouldn’t even have thought to add it. I’m glad you follow the Olympics though, always a good time. If hashtags could be used for WordPress I would have followed that last sentence with #GoUSA!
      Thanks for the response.

Leave a Reply

