I Trust You Colin Cowherd, You Herd Me?

Trust on social media is a hard to come across. From my experience, I rarely “initially” trust an individual on social media unless I have prior knowledge of who they are. These people are usually those who I see in alternate media outlets outside of social media. This doesn’t mean I don’t follow random people on social media if I see them making good points, but I don’t “entirely” trust them initially. To me, trust takes time and observation. If they keep their content consistent and relevant, I’m more likely to continue following them.

One individual that has stood out to me on social media is Colin Cowherd, an ESPN personality who, to CC_Headerme, is a realist. I’ve been a supporter of Colin for years now, and have thoroughly enjoyed his television shows, writings and radio programs. The main reason I admire him is because he doesn’t hold back on his views. He keeps his content entertaining, thoughtful and informative, and does it in a way that is quite appealing to the avid sports fan.

He displays a controversial, but “real” style of behavior. He says things that those in a similar position as him, shy away from. He isn’t scared to tackle any topic that comes his way. Of course there are times when I don’t agree with every viewpoint or argument that he brings up, but that doesn’t prevent me from thinking about it from his perspective. I feel he keeps the overall “interest” factor at a high. I can’t think of any better way to describe him, then he does with the title of his recent book publication, “You Herd Me! I’ll Say It If Nobody Else Will.”

CC_Retweet

Consistency is huge with Colin. He has certainly established “his own voice” on social media. I admire the fact that he responds to negative comments about him on by usually re-posting or re-tweeting them. This proves to me that he knows what and who he is, and regardless of the negativity shown to him, he won’t change the way he does things. That is a highly admirable and trustworthy quality that I have found with Colin.

The way that Colin benefits from earning my trust is that he knows fans, like me, are supporting him. He welcomes interactions and comments from viewers and will take whatever they are head on. He welcomes debate, sees it from the other people’s side, and then offers his take on it.

CC_Tweet

In the many years I’ve avidly followed sports, Colin is one of the few expert individuals who I trust. If you are a sports fan like myself, or just enjoy entertaining and slightly controversial content, check him out:

Twitter | Facebook | Blog

 

6 thoughts on “I Trust You Colin Cowherd, You Herd Me?

  1. Hey Gavin,

    I think responding to negative feedback is huge on social media. It exposes a different side of people and makes the experience more real. Sometimes celebrities get in arguments on Twitter which just seems childish. The longer an argument goes on, the worse it makes everyone look. Responding to a critic once with a well formed statement is enough for me. Take the higher road and leave the back-and-forth to others.

    Another good point you made was being true to who you are on social media. If you try to make everyone happy, you end up making no one happy. Finding your niche or personality on social media may not catch on immediately, but your fans are out there and will find you. Like you mentioned, it’s sometimes good to read opposing views because they make you think. It’s how you handle the criticism for your views that makes you seem altruistic.

    Nice post!

    • I love seeing negative feedback responded to. I think when you address the issue head on and accept the criticism, it actually helps build a better reputation. Colin definitely stays true to who he is and most of all, he is always consistent.

  2. Great post Gavin! I’m more of a Dan Patrick fan myself, but I respect Colin Cowherd’s style. I may not always like his opinions, but I give credit where it’s due. My dad can’t stand listening to him, mainly because of what he says, not the way he says it. I love that he retweets negative comments, I’ve never seen anyone do that before. It’s letting his audience know, in a very subtle way, how ridiculous some people are without actually criticizing them. That’s a very clever and savvy tactic to use that only certain people could get away with. I too admire confidence and consistency and you’ve proved to me that Colin Cowherd has both of those qualities.

    • Dan Patrick is great as well, I see their personalities being somewhat similar. I like how you mentioned you might not like his opinions, but you give credit where credit is due. I think that is a great way to look at things. Everyone has their own views and it’s important to look at it from their perspectives so you can see where they are coming from. I’m glad I made you a little more of a Colin fan. 🙂

  3. Hi Gavin,
    I think that’s great that Colin Cowherd gives attention to the haters! Instead of getting all mad at them, which is probably what they want, he points out to everyone in a subtle way how silly and petty these people look. I am not super familiar with him, but he sounds funny and like someone that would be interesting to follow. I also like that you brought up that even though you don’t always agree with his opinion, he makes you think about things in a different way. I think this is important for trusted sources, to challenge us as well as inform us. Imagine how boring it would be if everyone just agreed with each other all the time: No differing opinions, everyone just agrees with everything everyone else says. I like people who mix it up, yet don’t take themselves too seriously.

    • Colin accepting criticism and acknowledging it is a great tactic. It shows that he is not their just to promote, promote, promote..he actually likes hearing people’s views and it doesn’t sway his mindset, he keeps his content consistent. Like you said, not everyone can agree with everything, and sometimes these disagreements really lead to great conversations.

Leave a Reply

